ADMISSION to the LEGAL PROFESSION

Since the twelfth century it has been customary for advocates to swear an oath of allegiance upon admission to practice. The Third Charter of Justice provided for the formation of the Supreme Court of New South Wales. the appointment of court officers and the admission of solicitors and barristers. Among the first cohort of lawyers to be admitted in 1824 were barristers Saxe Bannister, Dr Wardell and William Charles Wentworth.

Nearly two centuries later, the Supreme Court continues to be involved in the admission of legal practitioners, both directly and indirectly, through its ceremonies and its representation on the Legal Profession Admission Board and its various committees.

Between 3 February and 8 December 2023, the Supreme Court held 53 admission ceremonies in the Banco Court, all of which were livestreamed on the Court's YouTube channel. A total of 2906 Australian lawyers were admitted (including 88 admitted under the Trans-Tasman provisions).

Legal Profession Admission Board

The Legal Profession Admission Board (LPAB) is constituted by the Legal Profession Uniform Law Application Act 2014. It is a self-funding statutory corporation responsible for:

- determining the eligibility and suitability of people seeking to be admitted as a lawyer in NSW;
- accrediting academic law courses and practical legal training courses in NSW;
- registering, enrolling and examining students in the Board's Diploma in Law Course;
- appointing public notaries in NSW, and
- maintaining the Roll of Lawyers and the Roll of Public Notaries in NSW.

Membership of the Board comprises:

- · the Chief Justice of NSW:
- three judges or former judges of the Supreme Court nominated by the Chief Justice;
- · a nominee of the Attorney General; and
- nominees of the Council of Australian Deans, the Bar Council, and the Law Society Council.

In 2023 the Court's nominees were the Hon A R Emmett AO KC (Presiding Member), Hon Justice Payne (Deputy Presiding Member), the Hon Justice Lindsay AM (until 2 August 2023) and Justice Kunc (from 3 August 2023).

Legal Profession Admission Board Examinations Committee

Supreme Court members during 2023

The Hon. Justice Darke (Chair and member until his Honour's retirement))

The Hon. Justice Peden (member and then Chair from 5 December 2023)

The Hon. Justice Chen (member from 21 August 2023)

Legal Profession Admission Board Legal Qualifications Committee

Supreme Court members during 2023

The Hon. Justice Cavanagh (Chair)

The Hon. Justice Lonergan

The Hon. Justice Kirk

A detailed account of the Board's activities and achievements can be found in its Annual Report, which is available for download from www.lpab.justice.nsw.gov.au

Trans-Tasman admissions

Trans-Tasman admissions are lodged in the Supreme Court Registry instead of the Legal Profession Admission Board. Applications from legal practitioners from New Zealand are determined under the *Trans-Tasman Mutual Recognition Act 1997 (the Act)*.

In 2023, 88 New Zealand practitioners were enrolled under the Act.



